Built surrounding a Venetian castle with obvious Ionian architectural influences, Parga resembles an isle in the heart of Epirus.
Nestled amphitheatrically on Mount “Pezovolos”, with its preserved multi-coloured settlement overlooking Paxi, Antipaxi and the distinctly blue waters of the Ionian Sea, Parga enchants you.
The history of Parga begins in ancient times, which was then known as Parageiros, Paragaia and Ipargos, the latter lending it its modern name. It was once occupied by the Normans, who built the first fort in the 14th century, followed by Venetians, French, the English and the Turkish.
In the years of the Venetian occupation, Parga revelled in great privileges and economic prosperity and bridged Turkish-occupied Greece with Venice.
In Parga, there existed oil mills and soap factories. In this same period developed an important educational growth with well-known initiating teachers such as Priestmonk Filotheos, Anastasios Mospiniotis, Andreas Idromenos, Christoforos Perraikos, Agapios Leonardos etc.
During Ottoman rule, several Souliotes crossed through Parga onto the Ionian islands. In 1797 Parga went from Venetian to French occupation and then to English occupation in 1814. The English proceeded to sell Parga to Ali Pasha by treaty in the beginning of the 19th century and consequently loses the privileges of past centuries.
The locals adversely react to the treaty since this comes with a significant loss of their property and in order to avoid enslaving themselves, escape to Corfu in 1819. The collective memory has salvaged their lamentation and their escape to Corfu as an important and tragic event in the history of the city.